Monday, December 26, 2011

Motorola Droid RAZR and the Motorola MOTOACTV

The Droid RAZR by Motorola is the future of smartphones and has the features to back it up. This phone has a dual-core 1.2GHz processor, an 8MP primary camera with a 1.3MP front facing camera, a huge 4.3-in. Super AMOLED Advanced qHD screen, and 16gb of internal memory with a 16gb microsd installed expandable to 32gb giving this phone a potential 48gb of memory! With a super slim design, light weight, 4G LTE network and ANDROID platform this is a great phone to have. In my opinion the only negative would be the price tag, which is $300. This device also can connect wirelessly to a device that truly impressed me. The Motorola MOTOACTV.
The little device is the future of wrist technology, so it only makes sense that I link them together. I have always been a fan of Motorola's products and this "smartwatch", as I call it, has impressive functionality. This is the dream of anyone who runs or works out and can store your music, monitor your heart rate, and also track your location giving accurate running distances.  

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Samsung Galaxy S II

If you're looking for the next generation of smartphone look no further. This is one of the thinnest, lightest, and fastest smartphones on the market and is turning a lot of heads. The Samsung Galaxy S II 4G boasts a huge 4.3 super AMOLED plus display, an 8MP camera with a 2MP front facing camera, a dual core processor, Bluetooth 3.0, optional 16gb or 32gb of memory(32gb expandable), and many more features that put it in the front of the pack. This is the definition of computing on the go.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Xbox 360 v. PlayStation 3

The great debate.... What's better, the Xbox 360 or the PlayStation 3? It's a very simple answer, If you're a casual gamer, like me, go with the PlayStation 3, but if your life revolves around gaming then the Xbox 360 is a must. The reason is that hardware-wise the PlayStation is superior with an integrated blue-ray player and it also has a free online multiplayer network, which is very convenient. In my personal opinion the Xbox 360 has a few good games that are only available for their system but the majority of popular games are available for both, giving the PS3 the upper-hand but the Xbox 360 requires you to pay to play online which is a deal breaker for me. The Xbox 360 gives a better overall online experience with little to zero lag while the PS3 suffers from occasional lost connections and some lag when the severs are being bombarded with players. In all honesty both systems are great for playing games and will provide hours upon hours of entertainment, but it all comes down to how much you want to play and what you want to use it for.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Apple Iphone 4s

The Apple Iphone 4s. If you thought the Iphone 4 was impressive just add steroids and you'll have Apple's newest smartphone. This phone has a powerful Dual-core A5 processor, a built-in assistant called Siri, an 
8 MP camera with improved HD video recording and a new battery that suggests a longer talk time. From the people I've talked to everyone loves Siri as it is quite helpful and has a well designed interface. The only problem is that Apple is notorious for introducing a new product every few months so I would wait of the Iphone 5 to come out, but if you're looking for an easy to use device today and don't plan on upgrading anytime soon this might be the phone from you. This phone is available for At&t, Sprint and Verizon.

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Motorola s805 Bluetooth Headphones Review

A few months back I decided it was time for a new pair of Bluetooth headphones and after 2 months of searching and weighing all pros/cons of many different brands I figured I'd stay with my Motorola roots and get a set of s805's. I have been using the s305's for a few years now and even though the s805 are a different headset type(s305 where on ear behind the head) I was so impressed I had to try Motorola's updated Bluetooth model. As soon as I opened the package I was surprised by their size. These headphones are BIG, but not in a bad way and they're aren't very heavy either. Functionality is quite nice with the ability to skip tracks, pause/play, adjust volume, take calls and they also have a connector to hard wire them in case the battery gets low. I've only listened to them for around 10 hours so far and as of now I would recommend them for anyone who likes the Bluetooth convinces and long battery life. Sound wise they have good highs and mids but the bass is a bit limited. Compared to the s305s it's a huge upgrade as they have basically no bass but compared to some Bose Triports the s805 are lacking. My music taste doesn't usually focus on bass intensive music but the s805's can handle good quality base tracks just fine. I sampled a little Young Jeezy just for fun and I was actually impressed as there was no distortion but if you want some headphones and will bass-you-to-death these aren't for you(in my opinion the Bose Triports have overpowering bass but everyone has their own opinion). Overall I picked these up for $47 shipped and give them a 8.5/10. Definately recommend.

Monday, October 24, 2011

Windows Phone 7.5 update MANGO

The Windows Phone started off with a simple OS to begin with that was fast, smooth and had little to no hiccups. Their newest update 7.5(code named Mango)  is nothing less than incredible. There are a ton of new features that I have been finding than are quite impressive. Microsoft has made hands free texting very simple and accurate, which is nice if you have a Bluetooth headset because you don't even have to take the phone out of your pocket to read (hear), reply and send text messages. In my experience battery life has been unaffected and heavy multitasking hasn't affected performance. This update quite good and if you have a Windows Phone I highly recommend updating.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Coming soon: Ubuntu 11.10, Windows Phone Mango, Iphone 4s and iOS 5.

Within the coming weeks I plan on telling you about Ubuntu 11.10, my experience with the newest windows phone update (Mango), and I'll give you my feedback on the new Iphone 4s/ iOS 5 and whether or not you should just wait for the Iphone 5. Also, this month two very influential people died, Dennis Ritchie and Steve Jobs. I'll just leave these picture below instead of ranting.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Hp Touchsmart Tx2, personal experience with the Touchsmart series

These last two weeks I've been using a Hp Touchsmart Tx2 as my primary laptop with Windows Developer Preview and I have to say I am very impressed. This particular tablet PC has a 30gb SSD(this isn't the original drive, you'll have to wait awhile before they make SSD's the standard but I would definitely recommend upgrading to one) and a boot time of 10 seconds. I've been using Microsoft Office Onenote 2010 for all my classes and taking notes is a dream, after using this for two weeks I honestly don't think I'll be able to go back to the standard "non-touch" laptop. As soon as the developers preview was released I wanted to get a tablet to truly test this new, touch friendly OS and it just so happened that my friends was looking to sell his Tx2. Getting into the tablet PC world can be a bit pricey but lucky I was able to find one for cheap. I plan on using this much more intensely soon and just wanted to give a little update of the Preview.

Sunday, September 18, 2011

My experience with Windows Developer Preview (Windows 8)

The day the Developers Preview was released I couldn't decide whether to put it on my main laptop or my netbook... or both.. I decided to go with my Hp Compaq 6820s which at the time was dual booted with Windows 7 and Ubuntu 11.04. I deleted all partitions besides my main Windows 7 partition and did a clean install of Windows 8. My computer literally boots in 15 seconds.... If I had a ssd in it I wouldn't be surprised at all if it boot in under 10 seconds, that's how fast it is. So besides the fast boot time, I've used this developers preview for a solid 15 hours and have yet to have a single hiccup, I love it. The integration between the normal desktop and what they call the Metro UI is very friendly, especially if you have a tablet PC. If you have been debating on whether to try this out or wait for the official beta, here's my opinion. DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL NOW! I installed the x86 version but I'm honestly considering buying a tablet PC just because of this OS. I'll keep you updated with my experience but as of now I won't be using anything else.

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Windows 8 Developer Preview

Normally I wouldn't post about an operating system in specific but this is something I think people would want to know about(if you already haven't heard). Microsoft released its official Windows 8 Developers build which is basically a beta to the beta version. Below is the link to download the .iso file, in which you can download either x64, x86, or x64 with the developer tools. ENJOY!

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Motorola MOTOROKR S305 Bluetooth stereo headphones

The first product I figured I'd review that wasn't a smart phone would have to be my Motorola S305 Bluetooth headphones. I've owned these for over 2 years now and I literally use them on a daily basis. Of all the different gadgets I have purchased, this is by far the best investment I have ever made. Before becoming a Bluetooth lover, I was like most people using the standard in-ear headphones and was extremely worried about the sound quality, battery life and clarity(static interference) of a wireless stereo headsets on the market. One day I was running on the treadmill and my headphone wire got caught on something and ripped the $100 headphones(they were an over-ear model) from my head causing them to break in half. Immediately after that happened, I walked to my computer, searched the different Bluetooth stereo headphones and bought these. These Bluetooth headphones are very cheap compared to the many other brands but I have yet to have a single complaint with these. The audio quality is very good for most music but it lacks a little in the bass region, so don't expect to listen to Young Jeezy and have the same quality as the subs in your car. I listen to a wide variety of music and I am very impressed with the quality for these wireless headphones. The battery life on these is quite good with roughly 6 hours of listening to music and about 6.5 hours talking on the phone. Yes, these headphones also have a built-in microphone so while you're going on a run and someone calls, all you have to do is push a button on the right side of the headphone and you can talk while you run. The headphones also have volume buttons, an on/off button and next/previous track buttons. I can't tell you how many times I would be walking down the street listening to music and get a call. It's as simple as pushing a button and you're talking to said caller, plus when the call is finished the music resumes right where it left off. It almost impossible for me to write down all the reasons I love these headphones but I'll just leave this food for thought. You can get these headphones for around $40. How much do those Bose/Beats you want cost? At least 5-10 times that? And what happens when the headphone cord gets caught on a door handle and rips the wire out? I can walk around the house with no phone/computer by me and these just keep going. With a range of over 30ft the benefits of having these headphones just keep going. If you have ever though about getting Bluetooth headphones this is the place to start. They will sync with anything that has Bluetooth(which is literally every smart phone there is(Iphones, Windows phones, Android phones, Blackberrys and all others) and the majority of modern computers/laptops/tablets). I GUARANTEE you will not be disappointed with these. The Motorola MOTOROKR S305 Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Headphones get an A++ rating from me.

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

The Great Smartphone OS Shootout: Windows, Apple, and Android; What Should You get?

Now that smartphones are available for basically every provider, everyone wants to have the newest device with the latest operating system. Unfortunately, many people look at the phone's specifications before they look at the system it runs on. In my opinion, pretty much every "smartphone" produced this year has specs that will suit anyone's normal phone use and this is why choosing a phone with a comfortable OS is very important. Here is a simple guideline that will help you get started:

If you like Windows 7, you will most likely want a Windows Phone 7.
If you like Apple OS X Lion (or other versions), you will most likely want to get an Iphone 4 (or 3gs)
If you like Linux, you will most likely want an android phone.

To me it's as simple as that. Currently, both my laptops are dual booted with Windows 7 and Ubuntu but phone wise I chose a Samsung Focus and I am extremely satisfied.

Also, just something to remember if you don't have much experience with these computer operating systems is that Apple usually has a "locked" OS, which means you don't have many customization options. Windows gives you a little more freedom but not as much as Android systems.

If you have any questions I will be more than willing to give my 2 cents just write a comment.

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Samsung Droid Charge

The Samsung Droid Charge has some of the best specifications of any smartphone to date, which is why this phone will be the new industry standard. To begin, this phone has a HUGE crystal-clear display. It's 4.3 super AMOLED Plus screen is one the of the best screens you can get for a phone and because it has an 8MP camera you can view your high resolution pictures in full detail. With up to 32GB of storage(2GB built in) you can storage all your favorite pictures and music no problem. It also has a fast processor, the newest Bluetooth technology, an addition 1.3MP front facing camera and supports flash so you the entire internet at your fingertips. In my opinion, if you are a Verizon customer this is a great option if you want a killer smartphone.

Monday, August 29, 2011

Apple Iphone 4

The Apple Iphone 4, a phone for all people regardless of age, experience or profession. This phone started the touchscreen revolution and continues to make a huge impact in the smart phone market. Even though its earlier generations lacked key features, the Iphone 4 takes the cake in the endless popularity contest of having the latest Apple product. The specifications of the phone are quite impressive with up to 32gb of memory, a 5MP camera, an incredibly clear almost unreal screen resolution along with every other amenity in the book. In my opinion, this phone is a great phone for someone just starting out in the smart phone world but I wouldn't recommend it for someone who has experience. Another drawback is the price. If you already enjoy Apple products this phone is extremely recommended for you.

HTC Arrive

Just like the Samsung Focus, the HTC Arrive is another Windows Phone 7 device but what makes this phone better than the others is its slide-out QWERTY keyboard. My first Windows Mobile phone was a HTC Touch Pro2 which initially turned me into a HTC lover and we can see HTC is still making an impact in the newest smartphone markets. This phone offers superb battery life, screen quality and memory. It also has a 5MP camera and built-in GPS. For a Sprint customer looking for a new phone, this is the definite choice. Even if you're with another provider and your contract is up, maybe you should consider switching so you can get you're hands on this beastly smartphone.

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Samsung Epic 4G

The Samsung Epic 4G. For the person who doesn't like the Windows or Apple platforms, this is clearly the best option. This phone boasts a huge 4-inch super AMOLED display and 16gb of storage(upgradeable to 32gb). With its speedy processor, it runs Android 2.1 without any hiccups so you won't have to worry about any "lag" or freezing. I would definitely recommend this phone to anyone looking for an easy to use interface without losing any features you would otherwise get from the other "tech savvy" smartphones.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Apple Iphone 3GS

The Apple Iphone 3GS was the first phone from Apple that made an impression in my eyes. The predecessors in the Iphone family lacked a fast processor, quality camera, significant memory and overall functionality. Everything that the 3G lacked, the 3GS made up for its older brothers imperfections. Especially now, with the 3GS only being $50, I would recommend this phone to anyone looking for a smartphone that is very easy to use. What I think makes the 3GS a good phone is that people with little experience can operate this phone quite easily because of Apple's easy to use interface. I would honestly stay away from the Iphone 4 if you haven't owned a smartphone before simply because of the price difference and the exact same software is factory loaded on both phones, so you're not missing any of the new features of the newest Iphone.

Comming soon: The Iphone 4/5 news and the shootout between the Windows Phone 7 and IOS 4.

Monday, August 22, 2011

Samsung Focus, Windows Phone 7

I've been using a Samsung Focus for almost a year now and I have to say I'm never going back. I've always been a fan of the Windows mobile interface even back to 6.1 but this phone takes the cake.
One of my favorite features of this phone is the built in Zune player. I've never used the Zune media player before this phone and even though I don't like the Computer interface I think the phone's Zune player is far superior to the Apple Iphone's player. The Focus takes beautiful pictures with it's 5MP camera and battery last all day browsing the web, sending texts and taking pictures. I would suggest this phone to anyone looking into buying a smartphone and I promise you will not be disappointed.